Thread: College Anxiety

Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

College Anxiety

Hey guys,
    So this is my first time really opening up on a forum like this. But i'm 21 years old and i'm starting college in Ottawa this year for Journalism. I actually graduated high school 3 years ago but since then i've done a victory lap, attended a university I didn't like and i've taken another year off after that to work/travel. A lot of good and bad has happened within that time, i've lost a few high school friends that just drifted apart from me, I ended my first serious relationship and I lost my job. On a better note though, I went to Europe for two weeks and I got into college.

Anyways here's the point of all this. I'm living in residence this year and I know I should be happy at the opportunity of making new friends, but over the past few weeks i've been having a LOT of anxiety over meeting new people. To the point where i've started to take St. John's Wort in hopes of relieving some of that anxiety. I just moved into residence about 5 days ago and there's not a lot of people here yet because the official move in date is not for another day. But I had a very lonely year at university 2 years ago where I had no friends and I spent a lot of time alone in my room and i'm super afraid that the same thing will happen this year. I am not at all good at meeting new people and I don't wanna have to change who I am just to fit in with people. I want to have friends and I want to go out and explore this city but it's no fun doing it alone. Anyone in the same position/any tips?

Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    This was exactly me when I was in uni. I'd suggest going to hang out in your shared kitchen a bit rather than your room so you can meet a lot of people in your halls. How many people are there now?

Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)