I would like to know how common OCD is?
    Thankyou!

Keddy's Avatar The Awkward Conversationalist
    Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    DrunkDrunk
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    I'm not sure what the exact statistic is for how many people globally have OCD, but I know that I have it and I know a fair amount of people who have it. I think as far as anxiety disorders go, it's pretty common.
    "It is never too late to be what you might have been." - George Eliot

Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Keep in mind that there are elements of OCD in SA and vice versa. Usually with anxiety, there is a component of OCD, but it is not super-prevalent in the disorder.

Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    HyperHyper
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    I agree with Ironman, in that there's really no definitive answer because OCD can just be a symptom of other things. I used to diagnose people for a living and learned that people are not their diagnosis. In other words, people can have some symptoms of anything. A diagnosis doesn't define who they are.

A person can recheck a lock because they have anxiety about being robbed.
    Or because they have PTSD from being attacked by an intruder
    Or because they have ADHD and tend to forget to lock it

So your question might be really hard to find an answer. I know studies can be made and and estimate can be extrapolated with a study group. That might give you an idea of it's prevalence in terms of symptoms. Tests though can be skewed. Even study groups can be skewed.
    The Hokey Pokey IS what it's all about

Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I have OCD

Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    ScaredScared
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    i've not been diagnosed and its not dominant of my life but i do have little ticks and ways of doing things that if i don't do i can get really pissed off about. i got bad about washing my hands at one point (didn't help with eczema) but thats stopped/calmed down now