Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Do you have social anxiety and have a job?

i've been wanting to get a job for a really long time so i can help my mom out with bills and such,I have really bad social anxiety. When it comes to the job application i'm always hesitant thinking about talking to people or having a costumer be rude and i'll most likely cry (i cry easily if i get yelled at). Do you have a job while dealing with social anxiety? How do you deal with talking to people and everything?

Keddy's Avatar The Awkward Conversationalist
    Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    DrunkDrunk
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    I have social anxiety and I work a full-time job. I am a manager as well.
    Social anxiety doesn't get in the way as much as I thought it would with my job. I work at a film studio so a lot of what I do is not very interactive with other people. For the most part I'm editing clips and I do that by myself.
    When I'm doing camera work or I'm in a board meeting, I do have to be around other people, and that makes me nervous. I always think I'm going to screw up and do something awkward, and honestly, a lot of times I am pretty awkward.
    As a manager, I really only have to deal with people face-to-face when there's a conflict, or someone is in trouble, or someone needs help with something. This is very anxiety-producing. I had to fire someone just the other day and I was scared as hell. But I did it and nothing went wrong.