Forum Addiction:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Any advice on how to deal with extreme SHYNESS without the help of ALCOHOL???

I am 19 years old and I have been dealing with shyness all my life. I honestly don't know if it qualifies as social anxiety disorder. I am still a college student and it's hard for me to start or hold conversation with classmates. I struggle a lot with presentations and after 3 semester, i still don't have any "friends" in the class. I am not an alcoholic and alcohol really taste bitter. Although after a few drinks,i find it that alcohol reduces my inhibitions, making me more confident and bring out my true self. I become more social,hold up conversations, and have a really good time. Unfortunately, this feeling wears off as i become sober so i was wondering if there are any ways to maintain that level of confidence without the use of alcohol ??? Any help would be appreciated

Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    ColdCold
    Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Yes, there are ways of deling with it.

If you're looking for some of sort of medication, you'll need to see a doctor for that. GP's can prescribe some, they may be able to help you if that what's you want, but you may need to see a psychiatrist for others. There are some herbal things you can get over the counter at a chemist that may help - St Johns Wort is one I've heard about that can be quite good.

Theres also therapy. Since you're in college, you should be able some sort of counselling or therapy for free within the college. A type of therapy called Cognitive Behavioural Therapy helped me a lot with my anxiety, but theres other types such as mindfulness that can also help.
    I'M GONNA FIGHT 'EM ALL
    A SEVEN NATION ARMY COULDN'T HOLD ME BACK.......

Forum Addiction:

I'm feeling
    IndescribableIndescribable
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)